The Ten Commandments

What are the Ten Commandments?

The Ten Commandments are a foundational teaching for all Christians. It is very important for the Christian to know and understand the Ten Commandments. It says in the Psalter, "The law of the LORD is perfect, converting the soul" (Psalm 19:7). The Ten Commandments are a summary of God's perfect law; therefore, they are essential to preaching the gospel of Jesus Christ.

The Ten Commandments can be found in chapter 20 of Exodus and chapter 5 of Deuteronomy (they are mentioned by name in Exodus 34:28 and Deuteronomy 4:13). I will list them as they are found in chapter 20 of Exodus.

  1. You shall have no other gods before me. (v.3)
  2. You shall not make for yourself any engraved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth. (v.4)
  3. You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain. (v.7)
  4. Remember the sabbath-day to keep it holy. (v.8)
  5. Honor your father and your mother. (v.12)
  6. You shall not kill. (v.13)
  7. You shall not commit adultery. (v.14)
  8. You shall not steal. (v.15)
  9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor. (v.16)
  10. You shall not covet...anything that is your neighbor's. (v.17)